Home Travel Visa Did you know that you can enter Canada without a Visa?

Did you know that you can enter Canada without a Visa?


Canada is known for its multiculturalism, cosmopolitan and green cities, beautiful lakes, stable economy, low crime rate, and unmatched Canadian hospitality. Canada is a North American country with the longest freshwater coast of 202,080 km.

To visit and explore Canada, the Canadian authorities must issue a visa, which allows you to stay. A Canadian permit is issued when an immigrant or visitor applies to visit, study, live, or work in the country. A visa grants permission to study, visit, live or work.

- Advertisement -

Applying for a Canadian visa can be a chore and frustrating; the whole process involves a lot of paperwork and money. But, don’t despair; Canada is one of the few countries that is generous to immigrants. There are several types of Canadian visas, each with its requirements. But did you know that you can travel to Canada without a visa? I’m sure you’ll enjoy visiting Poutine’s house.

Citizens of certain countries have the privilege of traveling to Canada without worrying about applying for a visa. All you need is a valid passport, and your access to Canada is guaranteed.

- Advertisement -

The Canadian government recently introduced an ETA (Electronic Travel Authorization) and visa-free citizens wishing to travel to Canada by air must apply for an ETA online before leaving for Canada. ETA is not required for visa-free citizens entering Canada by road.

Who Needs an ETA (Electronic Travel Authorization)

Are you a visa-free citizen? Are you flying through Canada? If your answer is yes, you need an ETA.

Citizens and permanent residents of the United States

US citizens only need a valid passport to enter Canada and US citizens do not need to apply for an ETA. However, permanent residents of the United States must apply for an ETA before traveling to Canada by air.

- Advertisement -
READ:  Reasons Why Your Visa Application Is Taking So Much Time to Process

Dual citizen

If you are a proud Canadian passport holder and a citizen of another country, you are exempt from ETA. However, you must carry a Canadian passport with you when entering Canada by air.

Permanent Residents in Canada

Canadian residents only need their travel documents when traveling to Canada.

- Advertisement -

Apply for ETA

Applications for an ETA can be done seamlessly online in a few minutes and it only costs 7 CAD. The validity of the approved ETA is five years after submission. ETA is an electronic document; You are not issued a physical document by the Government of Canada.

Click Next to see a list of visa-free countries for Canada.

List of countries exempt from visa requirements

Citizens of the following countries are visa-free when entering Canada, but require an ETA when boarding a flight.

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • British citizen
  • British National (Overseas)
  • British overseas citizen (re-admissible to the United Kingdom)
  • British overseas territory citizen with citizenship through birth, descent, naturalization or registration in one of the British overseas territories of:
    • Anguilla
    • Bermuda
    • The British Virgin Islands
    • Cayman Islands
    • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
    • Gibraltar
    • Montserrat
    • Pitcairn Island
    • Saint Helena
    • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • British Subject with a right of abode in the United Kingdom
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China must have a passport issued by Hong Kong SAR.
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel must have a national Israeli passport
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania (electronic passport holders only)
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan must have an ordinary passport issued by the Taiwan Ministry of Foreign Affairs containing a personal identification number
  • United Arab Emirates
  • The United States
  • Vatican City State must have a passport or travel document issued by the Vatican.
READ:  How to Acquire A Canadian Student Visa

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here